Bishop Gene Robinson to receive Pat Jackson Award

Bishop Gene Robinson to receive the 2012 Pat Jackson Award on November 15th

Manchester-based Dyn wins Summit Award in recognition of employees who serve as ambassadors

Bishop Gene Robinson will be awarded the 2012 Patrick Jackson Award on November 15, 2012 by the Yankee Chapter of the Public Relations Society of America. The award will be given at the Yankee Chapter’s annual meeting at UNH’s Franklin Pierce Law Center in Concord.

Established as the Yankee Award in 1988, the Patrick Jackson Award recognizes a professional who is not in the public relations field but nonetheless successfully uses public relations principles to benefit his or her organization and society.  The idea of the Patrick Jackson Award is to recognize excellence in the practice of public relations and acknowledge the recipient’s proven track record of building relationships that earn trust.

Gene Robinson is the Ninth Bishop of the EpiscopalDiocese of New Hampshire. Widely recognized for his work on civil rights for gay, lesbian, and transgender people; he is also a known advocate for debt relief, socially responsible investment, and access to healthcare. He initiated “Fresh Start,” a two-year mentoring program for all clergy in new positions in New Hampshire, and co-authored the Fresh Start curriculum, now in use in nearly half of the dioceses of the Episcopal Church. Co-author of three AIDS education curricula for youth and adults, Robinson has done AIDS work in the United States and in Uganda and South Africa. He holds two honorary doctorates and has received numerous awards from national civil rights organizations including the National Gay & Lesbian Task Force and the Equality Forum. Bishop Robinson gave the invocation at the opening inaugural ceremonies for President Obama at the Lincoln Memorial on January 18, 2009.

Some past recipients of the Patrick Jackson Award include: Thomas Raffio, President and CEO, Northeast Delta Dental; Mary Allen Lindemann, Co-owner, Coffee By Design; Sylvio Dupuis, President, Catholic Medical Center; Shirley Ganem, Exec. Dir., NH Task Force Against Child Abuse and Neglect; Steve Barba, President, Balsams Grand Resort & Hotel; Lew Feldstein, President, NH Charitable Foundation; William Frain, President, CEO, PSNH; Walter Peterson, Governor NH; Michael Hickey, CEO, Verizon Wireless; John Crosier, President, NH Business & Industry Association.

The 2012 Summit Award

Dyn, the world leader in Internet infrastructure-as-a-service, will be given the Summit Award for excellence on November 15. The annual Yankee Chapter PRSA Summit Award recognizes excellence in a specific area of focus, which varies year-to-year. The 2012 Summit Award recognizes excellence in the engagement of employees as ambassadors as an integral component of an organization’s public relations philosophy.

Dyn (pronounced “dine”), based in Manchester, was recognized for believing in the value of employees as ambassadors, applyingthis philosophy to nearly every aspect of their operations. Rather than simply relying on their sales force or marketing team, they see every single employee as an ambassador of the Dyn brand: in product and culture.

As a result, Dyn was named one of the most democratic workplaces of 2012 by WorldBlu, and has been repeatedlynamed one of the best places to work by Business NH Magazine.

Dyn  powers managed DNS and email delivery for more than four million enterprise clients, small businesses and home users. Dyn helps websites run faster and be more reliable, while also ensuring that transactional emails that consumerswant and need reach their inboxes.

The Yankee Chapter of the Public Relations Society holds professional development and networking sessions every month. Meetings feature workshops and first-class speakers on topics of interest to public relations professionals and the opportunity to meet and exchange ideas with colleagues from throughout northern New England.


To attend the event or for more information go to