

Patrick Jackson Award Nomination Process

Yankee Chapter PRSA seeks nominations for the Patrick Jackson Award.

About the Award

The award was established in 1988, designed to recognize a professional who is not in the public relations field but nonetheless successfully uses public relations principles to benefit his or her organization and society. The purpose of the Patrick Jackson Award is to recognize excellence in the practice of public relations and demonstrate a track record of building relationships which earn trust.

In light of the fact that an organization's success in relationship management often is a result of a team, the award may recognize the head of an organization or movement, or, if appropriate, an organization (for-profit or not-for-profit) which exemplifies the principle of sound public relations.

Criteria for the Award

Nominees must have a proven record in at least one of the following areas:

- Building relationships that earn trust which contributes to an organization's effectiveness or
- Demonstrating leadership in a crisis by using public relations principles, or
- Bringing about changes in society by finding accommodation with public needs, or
- Showing concern for the common good, not just concern for the success of the movement or organization

The nominee (individual, or in the case of an organization, its CEO, or functional organizational head) must agree to be present at the award presentation. The nominee should be based in the PRSA/Yankee Chapter service area of Maine, New Hampshire and Vermont.

The award is presented at the PRSA/Yankee Chapter Annual Meeting held during the month of November.

Yankee Chapter PRSA Patrick Jackson Award Nomination Application

Submission Deadline: October 1, 2012 Questions? Email awards@yankeeprsa.org

Please return completed nomination form to:

Susie Dimick Stone
Marketing Manager
Maine Medical Center
22 Bramhall Street
Portland, ME 04012
Email: awards@yankoon

Email: awards@yankeeprsa.org

Please submit the information of the person making the nomination:

Contact Phone: Contact Fax: Contact Email:

Nominee Name:
Nominee Position (if individual):
Organization Name:
Street or Mailing Address:
City, State, Zip Code
Nominee Phone:
Nominee Fax:
Nominee Email:

Why should this nominee be considered for the Patrick Jackson Award?

Please list two references that can attest to the nominee's qualifications. Please provide names, phone numbers and email addresses.

Yankee Chapter PRSA Patrick Jackson Award Recipients

- 2011 Dr. James W. Squires, founding president of the Endowment for Health
- 2010 2010 Phil Auger, New Hampshire Cooperative Extension
- 2009 Amoskeag Business Incubator
- 2008 Denise Doleac, executive director, Children's Museum of New Hampshire
- 2007 Larry Gammon, Easter Seals of NH
- 2006 Not given (Guest Speaker: -- Steve Barba)
- 2005 Mary Allen Lindemann, Coffee by Design
- 2004 Thomas Raffio, Northeast Delta Dental
- 2003 Not given (Guest speaker: Mike McCurry, fmr press secretary)

Awards below formerly known as the Yankee Award

- 2002 John Crosier, President, NH Business & Industry Association
- 2001 Not given (Guest Speaker: Judith Rich)
- 2000 Michael Hickey, CEO, Verizon Wireless
- 1999 J. Bonnie Newman
- 1998 Not given (Guest speaker: Ginger Hartidge, Southwest Airlines)
- 1997 Walter Peterson, Governor NH
- 1996 William Frain, President, CEO, PSNH
- 1995 James Freedman, President, Dartmouth College
- 1994 John Sortino, President, Vermont Teddy Bear
- 1993 Lew Feldstein, President, NH Charitable Foundation
- 1992 Steve Barba, President, Balsams Grand Resort & Hotel
- 1991 John Swope, President, Chubb Life America
- 1990 Shirley Ganem, Exec. Dir., NH Task Force Against Child Abuse and Neglect
- 1989 Paul Boffinger, President, Society for the Protection of NH Forests
- 1988 Slyvio Dupuis, President, Catholic Medical Center